Slice of Life 4

I believe in the Dewey Decimal System,

that mysterious code,

that lives in a fathomless drawer,

on fanned, yellowed cards, perfumed and sweet.

That code, written on scraps of paper,

carried through catacombs of shiny bound books,

fingers strumming spines, lips mouthing numbers,

until time stops, and for one small strand, all is deciphered.

6 responses to “Slice of Life 4

  1. Oh my! I love this! Thank you for a beautiful breath of fresh air on this too late evening after a very long day! Loving your blog design.

  2. Funny how I was instantly transported back to elementary school. I could clearly see the librarian with her cat eye glasses and rigid posture teaching us the merits of the Dewey decimal system!
    http://parentingandpedagogy.blogspot.com/2015/03/the-view.html

  3. Beautifully crafted! I love the poem – I think you gave the Dewey Decimal System, verve!

  4. I miss those card catalogs. I loved flipping through the cards to see what else might be lurking in the library besides the book I originally went to find.

Leave a Reply

